
California City Animal Control Shelter 

5000 Lindbergh Ave 

California City, CA. 93505 

760-373-1115 Shelter 

760-373-8606 ACO 

 

Animal Control Hours of Operation 

Shelter Hours 8am to 12pm daily. 760-373-1115 

Animal Control Officer available 7am to 5pm daily. 

760-373-8606 

California City Animal Shelter 

Intake Information 

The California City Animal Shelter staff will 

accept all animals. Owners will be required to 

fill out an OWNER RELEASE FORM that 

states they give up ownership of the animal 

they are turning in and a EUTHANASIA RE-

QUEST FORM.  

THE ANIMAL SHELTER STAFF WORKS 

WITH MANY RESCUES THROUGHOUT 

CALIFORNIA AND MOST OF THESE 

ANIMALS DO MAKE IT TO ADOPTION. 

 

 

 

Thank you so much for all of the 

eyes and ears that help the Ani-

mal Control Unit function. With-

out you, a lot of animals are ne-

glected, abandoned or running 

free. 

ACO Joellen Downs 

ACO Larisa Glisson 

Shelter Work Christine Bowker 

California City Animal Shelter Fees: 

 

Animal Pick Up: $20.00 

Euthanasia Fee: $75.00 

License Fee: $10.00 if altered, $75.00 if not altered. 

Shelter boarding fee is $15.00 per day if space is avail-

able. 

Reclaim Fee: $75.00  (to reclaim your pet from the 

shelter) 

Dog Adoption: $75.00    *****BREAK DOWN******  

$40 toward altering 

$15 for California City Shelter fees 

$10 toward Rabies 

$10 for License 

 

Cat Adoption: $65.00    ******BREAK DOWN******  

$40 toward altering 

$15 for California City 

$10 toward Rabies 

 

Vicious Handling Fee: $70.00 (can be applied) 

 

Citations can be given on top of other accrued 

fees if an animal has been running loose. 



California City Municipal Codes 
( 1) CCMC 6-1.103 (a)(1): Dog License 

      (a) ALL DOGS in California City must have a  YEARLY 

dog license. To obtain a dog license, owners MUST provide 

PROOF of CURRENT rabies shot. This information is to be 

taken to the California City Police Department OR the Cali-

fornia City Pet Clinic. The license will be issued at one of 

these two locations for a fee.  

( 2) CCMC 6-1.103 (a)(2): Leash Law 

       (a) ALL ANIMALS are required, 

when in a common public area, to be 

on a leash OR harness.  

( 3)  CCMC 6-1.103 (a)(3): Rabies 

Vaccination 

        (a) ALL DOGS must remain updated on their RABIES 

vaccination through your VET. 

( 4)  CCMC 6-1.103 (b)(1): Maintain Clean Area For Ani-

mal 

        (a) Area where animals are kept MUST be MAIN-

TAINED in a SANITARY condition. This area must be free of 

feces and/or trash that can cause flies, odors, or other health 

issues.  

( 5) CCMC 9-2.501: Excessive Amount Of Animals 

       (b) For each dwelling unit, the 

occupant  may keep THREE generally 

accepted household pets such as dogs, 

cats, small caged birds, and rabbits. 

ALL household pets must be re-

strained from doing anything which 

may be OR become an annoyance / 

nuisance to neighbors or to the 

neighborhood. NO RAISING, BREEDING, BOARDING, OR 

KENNELING of dogs, cats, small caged birds, or rabbits is 

permitted. Fish may be kept in aquariums without a numeri-

cal limit. NO BIRD CAGE/AVIARY SHALL BE LOCATED 

OUTSIDE THE STRUCTURE AND WITHIN 20 FT FROM 

LOT LINES OR WITHIN 100 FT OF A PLACE WHERE 

FOOD IS STORED, MANUFACTURED, OR CONSUMED. 

No raising, breeding, or  maintaining a fauna is permitted.  

FAILURE TO COMPLY WITH ANY MUNICIPLE 

CODE CAN RESULT IN A FINE OF $100.00 DOL-

LARS TO $500.00 DOLLARS 

DOG BITES: 

       ( 1) Dog(s) that bite people are put under 

QUARANTINE for 11 days. Quarantine can 

take place at the owners house OR local 

shelter. Dogs put under quarantine are 

watched for disease and/or abnormal 

behavior. Dogs that are under quarantine are 

NOT ALLOWED to be outside to go to the 

bathroom unless the owner has the dog on a 

leash. Once the dog is done using the 

bathroom the owner must IMMEDIATELY 

bring the dog back inside. 

      ( 2) If the dog(s) escapes or is let off the 

property, the owner will be subjected to a fine 

not to exceed $500.00 or face 

imprisonment not to exceed 6 months. 

(Ordinance Code Of Kern County, Title 

7, Section 7.08.100) plus the dog will be 

taken and quarantined at the shelter. 

Barking Dogs 

CCMC 9-2.501(b)  

Nuisance 

When an animal becomes 

an annoyance/nuisance to 

neighbors and or neighborhoods due to 

excessive behavior (barking, running the 

streets),  owners can be issued a citation 

starting at $100.00 and/or face capture or 

removal of the animal. California City 

quiet hours are to be maintained be-

tween the hours of 10pm to 6 am. 

Further contact information; 

Look us up on FaceBook.com under  

CaliforniaCity AnimalShelter 

Our email is calcityshelter@californiacity.com 

 

California City Animal Control 

Shelter 

5000 Lindbergh Ave 

California City, CA. 93505 

760-373-1115 Shelter 

760-373-8606 ACO 

 

California City Dog Park is now open. Please re-

member to pick up after your dog.  


